HomeAbout UsGrantsFormsNewsroomHelpContact Us
Search NIFA
Advanced Search
Browse by Subject
Agricultural Systems
Animals & Animal Products
Biotechnology & Genomics
Economics & Commerce
Environment & Natural Resources
Families, Youth & Communities
Food, Nutrition & Health
Pest Management
Plants & Plant Products
Technology & Engineering

Equity In Educational Land Grant Status

7 USC §301. Land grant aid of colleges

There is granted to the several States, for the purposes hereinafter mentioned in this subchapter, an amount of public land, to be apportioned to each State a quantity equal to thirty thousand acres for each Senator and Representative in Congress to which the States are respectively entitled by the apportionment under the census of 1860: Provided, That no mineral lands shall be selected or purchased under the provisions of said sections.
(July 2, 1862, ch. 130, §1, 12 Stat. 503.)


Act July 2, 1862, with the exception of section 7, was not incorporated into the Revised Statutes, probably because the grants made thereby were regarded as executed, and the provisions incidental thereto as temporary. By act Mar. 3, 1883, ch. 102, 22 Stat. 484, however, section 4 of the original act was amended to read as set out under section 304 of this title.

Short Title

Act July 2, 1862, which is classified to this subchapter, is popularly known as the “Morrill Act” and also as the “First Morrill Act”.

Equity in Educational Land Grant Status

Pub. L. 107–171, title VII, §7201(e), May 13, 2002, 116 Stat. 437, provided that: “Not later than 1 year after the date of enactment of this Act [May 13, 2002], the Secretary of Agriculture shall submit a report containing recommended criteria for designating additional 1994 Institutions [see section 532 of Pub. L. 103–382, set out below] to the Committee on Agriculture of the House of Representatives and the Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry of the Senate.”

Pub. L. 106–387, §1(a) [title I], Oct. 28, 2000, 114 Stat. 1549, 1549A–7, provided in part: “That hereafter, any distribution of the adjusted income from the Native American Institutions Endowment Fund is authorized to be used for facility renovation, repair, construction, and maintenance, in addition to other authorized purposes.”

Pub. L. 103–382, title V, part C, Oct. 20, 1994, 108 Stat. 4048, as amended by Pub. L. 104–127, title VIII, §882, Apr. 4, 1996, 110 Stat. 1175; Pub. L. 105–185, title II, §251, title III, §301(g), June 23, 1998, 112 Stat. 557, 563; Pub. L. 105–332, §3(d), Oct. 31, 1998, 112 Stat. 3126; Pub. L. 107–171, title VII, §§7126(f)–7128, 7201(a)–(d), May 13, 2002, 116 Stat. 435–437; Pub. L. 108–204, title I, §128, Mar. 2, 2004, 118 Stat. 547; Pub. L. 108–447, div. A, title VII, §777, Dec. 8, 2004, 118 Stat. 2849; Pub. L. 110–234, title VII, §7402(a)–(e), May 22, 2008, 122 Stat. 1245,1246; Pub. L. 110–246, §4(a), title VII, §7402(a)–(e), June 18, 2008, 122 Stat. 1664, 2007; Pub. L. 110–315, title IX, §941(k)(2)(A), Aug. 14, 2008, 122 Stat. 3465, provided that:


“This part may be cited as the ‘Equity in Educational Land-Grant Status Act of 1994’.


“As used in this part, the term ‘1994 Institutions’ means any one of the following colleges:

“(1) Bay Mills Community College.
“(2) Blackfeet Community College.
“(3) Cankdeska Cikana Community College.
“(4) College of Menominee Nation.
“(5) Crownpoint Institute of Technology.
“(6) D–Q University.
“(7) Dine College.
“(8) Chief Dull Knife Memorial College.
“(9) Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College.
“(10) Fort Belknap College.
“(11) Fort Berthold Community College.
“(12) Fort Peck Community College.
“(13) Haskell Indian Nations University.
“(14) Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development.
“(15) Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College.
“(16) Leech Lake Tribal College.
“(17) Little Big Horn College.
“(18) Little Priest Tribal College.
“(19) Nebraska Indian Community College.
“(20) Northwest Indian College.
“(21) Oglala Lakota College.
“(22) Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College.
“(23) Tohono O‘odham Community College.
“(24) Salish Kootenai College.
“(25) Sinte Gleska University.
“(26) Sisseton Wahpeton Community College.
“(27) Si Tanka/Huron University.
“(28) Sitting Bull College.
“(29) Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute.
“(30) Stone Child College.
“(31) Turtle Mountain Community College.
“(32) United Tribes Technical College.
“(33) White Earth Tribal and Community College.
“(34) Ilisagvik College.