HomeAbout UsGrantsFormsNewsroomHelpContact Us
Search NIFA
Advanced Search
Browse by Subject
Agricultural Systems
Animals & Animal Products
Biotechnology & Genomics
Economics & Commerce
Environment & Natural Resources
Families, Youth & Communities
Food, Nutrition & Health
Pest Management
Plants & Plant Products
Technology & Engineering
Sustainable Development

United Nations Millennium Development Goals

The United Nations adopted eight Millennium Development Goals in 2002. The 191 U.N. member states pledged to meet these goals by 2015:

  • Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger.
  • Achieve universal primary education.
  • Promote gender equality and empower women.
  • Reduce child mortality.
  • Improve maternal health.
  • Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria, and other diseases.
  • Ensure environmental sustainability.
  • Develop a global partnership for development.

NIFA is addressing the 2002 U.N. Millennium Development Goal 7—to ensure environmental sustainability—by forming an agency-wide Science for Sustainability Working Group. The mission of this group is to integrate the principles of sustainable development into NIFA policies and programs to decrease the losses of environmental resources and loss of biodiversity within the U.S. This effort supports one of the implementation steps of the U.N. Millennium Development Goals—Integrate the principles of sustainable development into country policies and programs; reverse loss of environmental resources.

In addition, NIFA participation in the White Water to Blue Water WSSD Partnership addresses the special needs of landlocked countries and small island developing states, which is implementation step 14 of the U.N. Millennium Development Goals.


Back to Sustainable Development Home Page