Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

The Roaden University Center on the campus of Tennessee Technological University in Cookeville, Tennessee. Credit: Creative Commons

Certified Non-Land-Grant Colleges of Agriculture

Learn about the partners who collaborate with NIFA to address critical issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and communities.

The Capacity Building Grants for Non-Land-Grant Colleges of Agriculture Program focuses on improving research, outreach and postsecondary level educational activities related to food, agriculture, natural and renewable resources, human sciences and other similar disciplines. NLGCA partners will also support the economic vitality of rural communities by funding new degree programs that emphasize new and emerging employment opportunities.

To learn more about how to request designation as a Non-Land-Grant College of Agriculture (NLGCA) under the 2018 Farm Bill provisions, please visit Request for Non-Land-Grant Colleges of Agriculture Designation resource page. If you are not sure if you are eligible to request designation, you can look at the NLGCA Eligibility Flow Chart. For information on changes to the NLGCA designation process, please see the Federal Register Notice on this topic.

For a list of NIFA-certified NLGCA institutions, please visit NIFA-20-001 Non-Land-Grant Colleges of Agriculture (NLGCA) List resources page.

For more information or further assistance, contact

Your feedback is important to us.

Take the Website Survey