Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Image of woman performing agriculture research, courtesy of Adobe Stock

Smith-Lever Act Sections 3(b) and 3(c) Special Needs Capacity Grant

The purpose of this funding is to increase the level of agricultural extension activities and reaching out to new audiences. 

Applications may only be submitted by the following 1862 Land-grant Institutions: University of Alaska-Fairbanks, University of Arizona, Colorado State University, University of Idaho, Kansas State University, Montana State University, University of Nebraska, University of Nevada-Reno, New Mexico State University, North Dakota State University, Oregon State University, South Dakota State University, Texas A & M University, Utah State University, University of Vermont, and University of Wyoming.


There are two types of reporting requirements for these funds:

1) Plan of Work. Each 1862 and 1890 land-grant institution is required to submit every five years a plan of work for their agricultural research and extension formula grants authorized under the Hatch Act, Smith-Lever Act, and Sections 1444 and 1445 of the National Agricultural Research, Extension, and Teaching Policy Act. For more information on this reporting requirement please visit the NIFA Reporting System page.

2) Financial Reporting. Awardees are required to submit a SF-425, Federal Financial Report annually no later than 90 days after the award anniversary date. The final SF-425 is due no later than 90 days after the termination date of the grant. The form should be emailed as a PDF attachment to All questions relating to the SF-425 reports should be directed to the Administrative Contact listed in block 14 of the Award Face Sheet.

Program type
Grant Program
Related Information
Website Survey CTA Image Desktop

Your feedback is important to us.