Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Three college students at table, courtesy of Adobe Stock

Hispanic-Serving Agricultural Colleges and Universities (HSACU)

The Food, Conservation and Energy Act of 2008 (FCEA) authorized establishment of a group of Hispanic-serving agricultural colleges and universities (HSACUs) to be eligible for NIFA Integrated Research, Education, and Extension Competitive Grants Programs. 

NIFA certifies HSACUs under three criteria:

  • Qualify as a Hispanic Serving Institution per the Department of Education's eligibility matrix; meaning an institution of higher education that: 
    • Is an eligible institution, as that term is defined at 20 U.S.C. 1101a; and 
    • Has an enrollment of undergraduate full-time equivalent students that is at least 25 percent Hispanic students, as reported to the U.S. Department of Education's Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System during the fall semester of the previous academic year. 
  • The institution offers associate, bachelors, or other accredited programs in agriculture-related fields pursuant to 7 CFR 3434.5.
  • Hispanic students receive at least 15 percent of the degrees awarded in agriculture-related programs over the two most recent completed academic years.

NIFA will determine annually which institutions to certify, effective for one year, by using the U.S. Department of Education's statistics on degrees conferred. HSACUs do not include 1862 Institutions.

Institutions seeking to be considered for certification may review these documents: 

Regulations and Notices

Previous Certifications

Contact Information

For further information, contact HSACU.

Your feedback is important to us.

Take the Website Survey