Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Person handing a WIC card to a vendor. Adobe Stock

WIC Workforce - Evaluation and Technical Assistance Center

Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children Workforce Initiative

The Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) National Workforce Strategy is part of a joint agency initiative between the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) Food and Nutrition Service and National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) that is expected to cultivate comprehensive and sustained solutions for WIC workforce development. The joint agency initiative aims to strengthen the diversity and cultural competency of the WIC workforce, with the ultimate goals of increasing: 1) WIC participation through reaching those populations that are eligible, but not enrolled; and 2) WIC participants use of benefits and services, including nutrition education and breastfeeding support. 

For this RFA, NIFA requests applications for a WIC Workforce Evaluation and Technical Assistance Center to provide technical assistance and evaluation oversight to implementation projects that will be funded to respond to the WIC Workforce National Strategy

National WIC Workforce Strategy

The WIC Evaluation and Technical Assistance Center must align with the National WIC Workforce Strategy and support the projects funded through the WIC Workforce - Implementation Projects funding opportunity.

Eligibility Requirements

Applicants for the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children WIC Workforce Development - Evaluation and Technical Assistance Center must meet all the requirements discussed in this RFA. Failure to meet the eligibility criteria by the application deadline may result in exclusion from consideration or, preclude NIFA from making an award. For those new to Federal financial assistance, NIFA’s Grants Overview provides highly recommended information about grants and other resources to help understand the Federal awards process.

Eligibility institutions include: 

  1. State Agricultural Experiment Station;
  2. colleges and universities (including junior colleges offering associate degrees or higher, Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) and Tribal Colleges, 1994 Land-Grant Institutions, Hispanic-serving agricultural colleges and universities (see NIFA's Hispanic Serving Agricultural Colleges and Universities page);
  3. university research foundations;
  4. other research institutions and organizations;
  5. non-profit organizations
  6. Federal agencies;
  7. Governmental agencies;
  8. Tribal organization
  9. national laboratories;
  10. private organizations or corporations;
  11. individuals who are U.S. citizens, nationals, or permanent residents; or
  12. any group consisting of two or more entities identified in 1) through 11). 

Eligible institutions do not include foreign or international organizations. 

WIC Evaluation and Technical Assistance Center (WETAC)

The project will design and carry out an overarching evaluation of the work carried out by the WIC workforce implementation project grantees. The WETAC is a Cooperative Agreement with a grant duration of 60 months and a maximum award amount of $10,000,000. Anticipated # of Awards: 1.


Applications Due July 1, 2024

For more information, reach out to the WICWD Team, or National Program Leader, Dr. Carinthia Cherry at WICWD Mailbox. You can also visit the WIC Workforce Development Initiative Main Page.

Your feedback is important to us.

Take the Website Survey