Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Hispanic-Serving Agricultural Colleges and Universities (HSACU)

The Food, Conservation and Energy Act of 2008 (FCEA) authorized establishment of a group of Hispanic-serving agricultural colleges and universities (HSACUs) to be eligible for NIFA Integrated Research, Education, and Extension Competitive Grants Programs.

NIFA certifies HSACUs under three criteria:

  • At least 25 percent of the institution's full-time student enrollment is Hispanic
  • The institution offers accredited agriculture-related programs
  • Hispanic students receive at least 15 percent of the degrees awarded in agriculture-related programs over the two most recent completed academic years.

NIFA will determine annually which institutions to certify, effective for one year, by using the U.S. Department of Education's statistics on degrees conferred. HSACUs do not include 1862 Institutions.

Institutions seeking to be considered for certification may review these documents: 

Regulations and Notices

Previous Certifications

Contact Information

For further information, contact HSACU.

Website Survey CTA Image Desktop

Your feedback is important to us.