Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Image of agricultural field with icon overlays, courtesy of Adobe Stock

NIFA-19-005 NLGCA Eligibility Flow Chart

The Non-Land-Grant Colleges of Agriculture (NLGCU) institution designation must be requested and approved by NIFA in order to receive the designation. NIFA supports agricultural programs at eligible institutions through the Capacity Building Grants for Non-Land-Grant Colleges of Agriculture (NLGCA) Program.

The NLGCA Eligibility Flow Chart helps to show the steps determining whether or not an institution is eligible to be designated as a NLGCA as defined in the 2018 Farm Bill. Additionally, this flow chart provides a list of the Areas of Study. If your program does not fit into the areas of study listed for NLGCA eligibility as defined in the 2018 Farm Bill, you may request consideration for inclusion by the Secretary of Agriculture. For more information on how to request the designation, please visit the Request for Non-Land-Grant Colleges of Agriculture Designation resource page.

For more information or further assistance, contact

*Disclaimer: The contents of this document do not have the force and effect of law and are not meant to bind the public in any way. This document is intended only to provide clarity to the public regarding existing requirements under the law or agency policies.

Your feedback is important to us.

Take the Website Survey