Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

NIFA-20-007 AFRI Program Area Funding Levels and Award Durations

This table of the Fiscal Year 2020/2021 grant categories, program areas, funding levels and award durations is presented to help eligible national and state commodity boards understand the variety of opportunities in the Agriculture and Food Research Initiative (AFRI) program and determine what topics and types of grants they may want to propose for jointly funding with NIFA. While some programs listed may have recommended matches lower than $150,000, for any one topic a minimum of $150,000 commitment is required (so for those programs, multiple awards would funded under a topic).

The three primary grant categories are the Education and Workforce Development Program, Sustainable Agricultural Systems Program, and Foundational and Applied Science Program. These three overarching grant categories, which differ primarily in the size and duration of their awards, each contain a number of specific programs. The Sustainable Agricultural Systems Program is not included in the spreadsheet due to the maximum award size being larger than the current commodity board maximum contribution.

These FY 2020/2021 programs are intended to illustrate the program categories and award types in the most recent AFRI cycle of Requests for Applications (RFA) but are not intended to indicate a commitment to offering identical program areas in FY 2021/2022 and future RFA cycles.

To learn more about the Commodity Board provision of the Farm Bill at NIFA, please see the main page.

*Disclaimer: The contents of this document do not have the force and effect of law and are not meant to bind the public in any way. This document is intended only to provide clarity to the public regarding existing requirements under the law or agency policies.

Website Survey CTA Image Desktop

Your feedback is important to us.