Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Girl working in field with laptop, courtesy of Adobe Stock

Family Life and Human Development State Specialists Awards

The National Awards for Family Life and Human Development State Specialists are awarded to state Extension specialists who have made important contributions to the work of Cooperative Extension and who provide clear evidence of program impacts. Programming in Family Life and Human Development addresses a range of topical areas, from prenatal choices for at-risk expectant mothers, critical early childhood development, parenting skills, adult relationships, and family dynamics, and on to aging and end-of-life issues. These awards honor research-based programming that is effective at improving people's quality of life and well-being and are given annually in partnership with NIFA’s Division of Family & Consumer Sciences.

The National Family Life and Human Development Extension Specialist Awards Committee has provided leadership for the selection process and presented the awards since 1995.

For questions about the awards, email Dr. Jodi Dworkin or contact her at 612-624-3732.

Past Early Achievement Award Recipients:

2017 Dipti Dev & Adrienne Duke
2016 Victor Harris
2015 Not awarded
2014 Not awarded
2013 Tonia R. Durden and Jane Riffe
2012 Malcolm L. Smith
2011 Andrew Behnke
2010 David Schramm
2009 Brian Higginbotham
2008 Matthew J. Devereaux
2007 Kimberly Greder
2006 Jodi Dworkin
2005 Ted Futris
2004 Francesca Adler-Baeder
2003 John DeFrain
2002 Sally Bowman
2001 Linda D. Ladd
2000 Karen Bogenschneider
1999 Richard C. Ponzio
1998 David Riley
1997 Maureen Mulroy
1996 Ben Silliman

Past Career Impact Award Recipients:

2017 Mary Huser
2016 Daniel Perkins
2015 Not awarded
2014 Charlotte Shoup Olsen
2013 Clifton E. Barber
2012 Randolph R. Weigel
2011 Steven Small
2010 Karen Bogenschneider
2009 Not awarded
2008 Not awarded
2007 Lesia Oesterreich
2006 Mary Brintnall-Peterson
2005 Patricia Tanner Nelson
2004 H. Wallace Goddard
2003 Karen DeBord
2002 Not awarded
2001 Sam Quick
2000 Glen O. Jenson
1999 Ronald L. Pitzer
1998 Robert Hughes, Jr.
1997 Chuck Smith
1996 Robert Fetsch & Judy Myers Walls
1995 Dot Cudaback, Herb Lingren, Sally Kees Martin, & Jim Van Horn

Your feedback is important to us.

Take the Website Survey