Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Image of agricultural field with icon overlays, courtesy of Adobe Stock

NIFA-18-010 NIFA Federal Assistance Programs List

Types of NIFA Financial Assistance

NIFA’s financial assistance programs are generally classified by the type of funding mechanism. The primary funding mechanisms are (1) competitive grants; and (2) capacity and infrastructure grants.

Competitive grants are programs that provide funds to State, local and tribal governments, organizations, individuals and other entities through a competitive process per 7 CFR 3430.

Capacity and Infrastructure grants are agricultural research, extension, education, and related programs for which the Secretary has administrative or other authority as of the day before the date of enactment of the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 as defined in section 251(f)(1)(C) of the Department of Agriculture Reorganization Act of 1994, 7 U.S.C. 6971(f)(1)(C)).

Each funding mechanism establishes the nature of the relationship that will exist between NIFA and the recipient throughout the duration of funding. Different funding mechanisms also carry different application and eligibility requirements. However, all applicable requirements will be communicated to potential recipients through the funding opportunity announcement.

A list of all of the types of funding mechanisms as well as the individual federal assistance programs may be downloaded below. Each program lists the CFDA number and a point of contact.

*Disclaimer: The contents of this document do not have the force and effect of law and are not meant to bind the public in any way. This document is intended only to provide clarity to the public regarding existing requirements under the law or agency policies.

Your feedback is important to us.

Take the Website Survey